Closing My Account

We can deactivate your account upon written request.

We’re required to preserve certain books and records per Securities Exchange Act Rule 17a-3 and Rule 17a-4. We take the security of all collected data very seriously, and we don’t intend to use this data for anything beyond the fulfillment of our regulatory requirements.

We can only close accounts with a $0 balance. If you own any stocks in your Robinhood account, first liquidate your assets and withdraw the balance once the funds settle, or submit a request to transfer your assets to another brokerage. Keep in mind that transferring your assets to another brokerage could incur an ACATS fee.

After your account reaches a $0 balance, send us a note with a written request to close your account. We’ll be able to process your request within five business days. 

Even if you deactivate your Robinhood account, you’ll still be able to retrieve your Account Statements, Tax Documents, and Trade Confirmations through the app. Re-downloading the Robinhood app will not reactivate your account.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request